Hugh Laurie & Reponsibilities

Today was thoughtfully eventful, as in I watched TV all day, then had an epiphany around 10 o clock. Is that eventful? I think it is. As for television, or Netflix that is, Mama and I watched Supernatural until she fell asleep (this usually happens) after the third episode (this time was different because she usually falls asleep after the first one we watch). I’m trying so desperately to get through Fullmetal Alchemist. I only have about 5 more episodes then I’ll be done. I’m having a hard time keeping up, though. I’ve never had a stronger urge to throw something at the TV than I had while watching that show today. I switched over to House around 5. I like to think that I watch for the crazy diagnostics, and I do, but Hugh Laurie is the real selling point for me. That man is absolutely GORGEOUS.

But I digress; my late epiphany came while I was waiting around to make my bed. All of a sudden, it just clicked: I need to take on more responsibility, otherwise how am I ever going to be a successful adult? I’m 17, I’ll technically be an adult in less than a year from now. I’ll hopefully be out on my own once I graduate, regardless of where I attend college.

I say that it came on all of a sudden, but honestly I don’t think it did. Mama was talking to me about being more organized and responsible the other night. I was so aggravated with her that she probably thought that nothing went through to me (I didn’t think I learned anything either). I guess it just took a little while to take in. Another thing that brought it on was the movie “Mr.Pip”. If you can’t remember the movie (I’m talking to myself, here), go back and watch it. It also has the FINE Hugh Laurie in it. It’s mostly discussing “Great Expectations”, which led me into thinking about what is expected of myself: What I expect of myself; what others expect of me.

Then I started thinking about taking better care of myself. I’ve been trying to engrave this into my own mind for quite a while now, I just had never taken the initiative to start doing it. I’m lazy and I procrastinate, but I need to get over those things. The first step to changing is admitting you have a problem, right?

Leave a Reply

