Hope, Jokes, and Dogs

Hope, jokes and dogs: that’s what sums up my day. I woke up around 2 because I didn’t go to sleep till 4. I was too busy watching coming out videos and crying my eyes out. Surprising, right? I don’t think I’ve ever related to a stranger more than I relate to Hannah Hart (Except for the drunk cooking thing). I want to think that my family will ex-communicate me if/when I come out, but I’m not quite sure anymore. Maybe I’m just aiming for the worst, hoping to prepare myself. I don’t think I’d ever be prepared for the best to happen either, though.

My need to actually do something is very strong. I haven’t done absolutely anything productive in the past 48 hours, unless you count this as productive. I feel like I’m about to burst from anticipation because of how much I want to start refurbishing the dresser sitting in the spare bedroom. We were supposed to go buy supplies for it the other day, but obviously it didn’t turn out to be that way. Now I’m just sitting around doing nothing, being bored out of my mind.

I watched a moderate amount of television today. It began with “The Hunchback of Notre Dame” which I’ve seen countless times. I can’t stress enough how much I love that movie. So many movies made me cry at a young age, and that was one of them. If a movie can make me cry, you know it’s good (In that case, I must have watched a lot of amazing movies in my time). I’m tempted to read the book although I’m already fairly certain it’s nothing like the Disney version. For one thing, there’s not any singing; and another thing, there probably aren’t any talking gargoyles either (I’m secretly hoping that’s in the book though).

Another movie we watched proceeding that was “Tracks”. It was a true story about a young woman trekking across the Australian desert to the ocean. Did I mention that one made me cry too? It was only because her dog died, but it was so sad. I don’t know what I’d do without Jewel. A great quote from the movie (or book) was foreshadowed in the beginning of today’s entry: “The universe gave us three things to make life bearable: hope, jokes, and dogs.”

Around the 1 hour mark on the movie, Jewel started barking at the door. Dylan was coming down to the pond to go fishing. Mama always fawns over him, saying how he’s such a good boy and what manners her has, not to mention how cute he is. It’s just so weird to me how Mama can say stuff like that, even about my friends. It’s just odd.

Not even ten minutes after he went fishing, someone knocked on the door. Apparently Dylan had caught a Cottonmouth by the pond. (Gees, how impressive. Just what I want in a guy. Seriously, just marry me now -_-). Stephen went out and shot it of course.

Also, I started reading “Great Expectations” last night. It’s quite weird how it starts out, but I’m sure I’ll get more into it as I go along (considering I’m only to Chapter 4 so far). Hopefully tomorrow will be more eventful than today.

Leave a Reply

